Pentair Variable Speed Pump

These days, many companies seem to be facing an unusual choice: “Go green” or go away. More and more consumers expect the products and processes they use to have minimal impact on the environment.

But which products actually deliver on that promise? Pool professionals throughout the country consistently named products within three broad categories: Variable-speed pumps, robotic cleaners and solar heating systems. Though these products often come with higher price tags, those who sell them explain that this cost is soon offset by the savings they bring.

I’ve been selling energy-efficient pumps since they were introduced, but for the first few years, I had no personal experience with them. Then in May of ’08, I had a problem with the pump on my own pool, so I decided to go ahead and upgrade to the energy-efficient model.

Prior to putting in that pump, I was running my 2-hp pump for six hours a day. When I put in the new variable-speed pump, I doubled my run time from six hours to 12, and my first electric bill was down $100 from the month before.

I let three months go by, because I wanted to make sure the first month wasn’t just a fluke. But as time passed, I found that I was saving about $75 a month on electricity consumption alone.

So I said to myself, “I owe it to my customers to at least let them know about this.” And I sent a mailer out that said, “Look, we’re not just trying to sell you a new pump. This is what I personally experienced, and this is what I perceive my payback to be. And I think you owe it to yourself to at least look at it.”

I really don’t know of any other product that you can just replace, and see it not only pay itself off, but continue to pay dividends down the road.

About Red Square Pools

Thank you for checking out our blog...we appreciate you taking the time to read our posts. To be quite honest, our posts come from your questions. Red Square Pool's wants to clear up the confusion and frustration of maintaining your pool and spa. We simply want to make Pool Maintenance and Repair SIMPLIFIED!! Let us know what your thinking by dropping us an email at info@redsquarepools.com. Have a safe and happy swimming experience!

Leave a Reply

